After Malda, Trinamool wrests control of Jalpaiguri Zilla Parishad

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jalpaiguri (WB), Aug 24: The ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) has got control of the Jalpaiguri Zilla Parishad which was held by the Left Front as at least six of its members defected to the TMC.

ADM (Zilla Parishad) Amlan Jyoti Saha on Wednesday (Aug 23) said it has been officially intimated to him that six LF members have joined the TMC, thus making the the party minority in the Zilla Parishad. In the 19-member Jalpaiguri Zilla Parishad, the LF had 14 members, the TMC four and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha had one member.

trinamool congress

After six LF members' defection, The TMC now has 10 memebers. Asked whether the Parishad Sabhadhipati and CPI(M) leader Noorjahan Beghum also joined the TMC, Saha said he has no news of this. The name of Noorjahan Beghum, who is chief of the Zilla Parishad, does not feature in the list of the six who defected to the TMC.

On Monday, in Malda Zilla Parishad, altogether 14 members belonging to Congress and the Left defected to TMC giving the party control of the Parishad.  The TMC did not win a single seat in Malda district in the Assembly polls held earlier this year.


Please Wait while comments are loading...