Teams to monitor TN bypoll from where Jayalalithaa seeks re-election

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Jun 1:  Separate teams of flying squads, static and video surveillance squads have been formed to monitor election expenditure to the RK Nagar Assembly constituency bypoll on June 27, from where AIADMK supremo and Chief Minister Jayalalithaa will contest.

"As Standard Operating Procedure, three flying squad teams, six static surveillance teams and one video surveillance team have been formed to monitor the election expenditures in view of the ensuing by-election to Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly from Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly Constituency," Chief Electoral Officer Sandeep Saxena said in an official release here.

Security up fr TN bypoll from RK Nagar

The strength of these teams will be increased subsequently as needed, he said. On the implementation of Model Code of Conduct, he said 412 numbers of posters and banners were removed as of today and further action is being taken.

On the Law and Order front, 31 licensed arms were deposited with the authorities, nine non-bailable warrants were executed and 14 cases were booked under preventive sections of CrPC and 6 check posts are operational, he said.

Also read: Jayalalithaa DA case: Karnataka to appeal in Supreme Court this week

The bypoll will be held on June 27

On May 17, the RK Nagar seat fell vacant after AIADMK MLA P Vetrivel resigned following the acquittal of Jayalalithaa in a graft case by the Karnataka High Court.

After days of speculation that Jayalalithaa will contest from that seat, AIADMK formally announced on May 29 that she will be seeking re-election from RK Nagar. In 2011, Jayalalithaa was elected from Srirangam assembly constituency.

However, she was disqualified following her conviction by a trial court in the assets case last September. However, she was acquitted by the Karnataka High Court on May 11.


Please Wait while comments are loading...