Smart City: List of 20 cities to be equipped with modern facilities released

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 28: Modi Government on Thursday released list of 20 smart cities. At a press conference, Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu released the name of the cities and said that top scorer among the list is Bhubneshwar and Pune.

Other cities of the list are, Jaipur, Surat, Kochi, Ahmedabad, Jabalpur, Visakhapatnam, Solapur, Bhuvanagiri, Indore, Coimbatore, Kakinada, Belgaum, Udaipur, Guwahati, Chennai, Ludhiana and Bhopal as well as NDMC.

These cities will be developed to have basic infrastructure through assured water and power supply, sanitation and solid waste management, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT connectivity, e-governance and citizen participation.

Smart City: List of 20 cities released

"These 20 cities will be the first to receive funds, hence kickstarting the process of developing them into 'smart cities'. The next two years will see the inclusion of 40 and 38 cities more," Naidu said.

These cities were chosen from 98 cities shortlisted for the 'Smart Cities Mission'.

"In terms of population, these 20 cities account for 3.54 crore people. A total investment of Rs.50,802 crore has been proposed in the selected smart cities and towns during the five-year period. Bottom-up approach has been the key planning principle under Smart City Mission," he added.

Naidu added: "Smart cities need to be inclusive, sustainable and effective engines of growth, fulfilling the aspiration of Young India."

OneIndia News

(With inputs from agency)

Please Wait while comments are loading...