Seven Maharashtra MLAs resign after winning Lok Sabha polls

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Maha: MLAs resign after winning LS polls
Mumbai, June 2: Seven legislators in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly have resigned from their seats after being elected to the 16th Lok Sabha.

The names of seven MLAs were announced by Speaker Dilip Walse Patil today on the first day of the monsoon session, which is the last session of the present Cong-NCP government in Maharashtra as the state Assembly polls are scheduled later this year.

Former Chief Minister Ashok Chavan, Rajiv Satav (both Congress), Rajan Vichare and Sanjay Jadhav (both Shiv Sena) and Gopal Shetty, Nana Patole, Chintaman Wanga (all BJP) resigned from their seats.

Chavan was elected from Nanded, Satav from Hingoli, Vichare won from Thane, Jadhav from Parbhani, Shetty won the Mumbai North seat, Patole emerged victorious in Bhandara-Gondia, and Wanga won from Palghar.

The newly elected LS members were congratulated by the Legislative Assembly by thumping of desks.


Please Wait while comments are loading...