Ruling Congress leads in Taluk Panchayat, likely to have edge over BJP in ZP polls

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, Feb 23: The incumbent Congress appears to have a edge over the BJP in the Zilla Panchayat (ZP) elections, while in Taluk Panchayat also it secured lead. 

The initial trend says the ruling Congress is leading in more than 10 of the 30 Zilla Panchayats of the Karnataka. The BJP is leading in 7.


Congress is leading in Haveri, Chitradurga, Ramanagaram, Gadag, Uttara Kannada, Kolar, Chamarajangar, Tumakuru, Kalaburagi, Yadgir, Bidar and Koppal ZPs.

Trends indicated that the BJP is leading in Dakshina Kannada, Udupi, Ballari, Kodagu, Bengaluru Urban, Davanagere, Shivamogga, and Chikkamagalur ZP, while the JD(S) is leading in Mysuru and Mandya.

However the situation in the coastal area is quite the opposite. In coastal districts, Udupi and Dakshina Kannada the BJP seems to hold the helm of the ZP.

In Mysuru ZP, the JD (S) gained initial leads, while Congress candidates were trailing. It could be observed that defeat see -s as set back for the Urban Development Minister Vinay Kumar Sorake.

In the 2011 polls, the Congress and JD(S) secured four ZPs each, while the BJP bagged 12 ZPs. The verdict was fractured in 10 ZPs.

In the Taluk Panchayath too Congress is leading  60 constituencies. The BJP in 56, while JD(S) secured 18.

Counting of votes for zilla and taluk panchayat elections commenced in all districts at 8 a.m. on Tuesday.

Nearly 17,000 candidates are in the fray in ZP and TP elections which was held in two phases on February 13 and 20. There are 1,080 ZP seats in 30 districts and 3,870 TP seats in 175 taluks across the State.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...