Puducherry CM Narayanasamy wins election

Written by: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Nov 22: Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy was on Tuesday elected to the Puducherry assembly, winning the Nellithope seat by 11,144 seats.

Narayanasamy trounced his nearest AIADMK rival by 11,144 votes by securing 18,709 votes.

Puducherry CM wins election

The by-election was held on Saturday following the resignation of Congress member John Kumar so that Narayanasamy could contest and continue as the Chief Minister.

Read more: Live updates: CPIM wins both Barjala and Khowai assembly seats in Tripura

Narayanasamy did not contest the assembly polls of May 2016. However, the Congress chose him as the Chief Minister.

Under law, a minister who is a non-member of an assembly has to get elected to the house within six months after assuming office.


Please Wait while comments are loading...