Pre-poll survey: Majority for BJP, but Arvind Kejriwal top pick for CM

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 13: The February 7 Delhi assembly elections is going to witness a tough fight between AAP and BJP.

The latest India Today-Cicero opinion poll shows the BJP marginally ahead with 40 per cent of the popular vote and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) just four points behind with 36 per cent. The Congress is a distant third with 16 percent.

AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal

The survey has projected BJP to bag 34-40 Assembly seats while the AAP has been predicted to bag 25-31 seats. The Congress could get just 3-5 seats and others up to two seats, it says.

The total sample of survey, conducted in all 70 constituencies and 210 polling stations, was 4,459.

[Delhi assembly polls 2015 to be held on Feb 7, results on Feb 10: Election Commission]

Arvind Kejriwal top pick for CM post

The survey said AAP's Arvind Kejriwal emerged as the top choice Chief Ministership with 35 per cent support while BJP CM candidate in last election Harsh Vardhan has been preferred by 23 per cent.

Only 9 per cent want former Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit back as CM.

Delhi election on 7th February

Meanwhile, the Election Commission on Monday announced that election to 70-member Delhi Assembly will take place on 7th February and results will be declared on 10th Feb.

Delhi has 70 assembly seats, 1.3 crore voters and 11,763 polling stations.

The BJP, AAP and Congress have already launched the election campaigns, in an attempt to form the government in the national capital, which has been under the President's rule since February 2014. On Saturday, Jan 10, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had kickstarted the BJP election campaign in Delhi by addressing a huge rally. Kejriwal, who had resigned as the CM after 49 days of governance, is hoping to make a comeback in Delhi, with his power-packed election campaigns.

In Dec 2013 assembly elections, Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party, that had made a spectacular debut in politics had won 27 seats, the BJP had won 32 seats and the 15-year ruling- Congress could managed to get only eight seats.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...