PM Narendra Modi retains Varanasi, vacates Vadodara seat

Subscribe to Oneindia News
New Delhi, May 29: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday resigned as MP from Vadodara constituency in Gujarat and retained Varanasi seat in Uttar Pradesh.

He submitted his resignation to the Speaker of Lok Sabha.

As expected, Modi will be a member of Parliament from Varanasi. Now, fresh elections will be held in Vadodara.

Modi had won by huge margins in both seats, but Varanasi was a challenging constituency as he was considered as an 'outsider' by his opponents and some locals, on the other hand, Vadodara was his home constituency from the state, where he had been ruling since last 15 years.

In Varanasi, Modi defeated AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal and Congress candidate Ajay Rai by a huge margin of over 3 lakh votes.

In Vadodara, he contested against Congress candidate Madhusudan Mistry, whom he defeated by over 5 lakh votes.

Modi won the hearts of Varanasi voters by promising them with the clean and developed Ganga.

Earlier, Varanasi was represented by the BJP veteran leader Dr Murli Manohar Joshi, who shifted to Kanpur to pave way for Modi.

Interestingly, Kejriwal had claimed that after May 16, Modi will leave for Vadodara and after one month he will vacate Varanasi seat and will go back to retain his Vadodara seat. [Read more]

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...