Delhi Assembly election 2015: Some interesting facts

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 7: As Delhi goes to poll on Saturday, here are some interesting and little-known facts about Delhi's election history.

Some interesting facts about Delhi polls

Facts you probably didn't know

  • This is the first time Delhi has been under President's Rule since it was declared a Union Territory. 
  • Of a total 1.3 crore electorate, nearly 2.2 lakh are teenagers or first-time voters; 37 lakhs are between 20 and 29 years.
  • This time, 300 voters are above 100 years old.
  • The Vikas Puri constituency in north Delhi has the largest number of voters.
  • Chandni Chowk in old Delhi has the least number of voters.
  • Delhi has 12 assembly seats reserved for SCs, none for STs.
  • Over 9,000 voters are homeless in Delhi, the Election Commission said.
  • Till now, only seven Chief Ministers have ruled over Delhi. 
  • AAP's Arvind Kejriwal has served the shortest term for only 49 days, this is days short of BJP's Sushma Swaraj who ruled for 52 days.
  • Chaudhary Brahm Prakash was the youngest (and first) Chief Minister of Delhi. He assumed office at the age of 34 in 1952. 
  • Congress' Sheila Dikshit, 60, is the oldest Delhi CM. She held office for 15 years.
  • Delhi did not have a chief minister for more than 37 years between 1st November 1956 and 2nd December 1993. 
  • The Delhi Legislative Assembly was first constituted in 1952, with 48 members. Presently, it has 70 members.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...