Ministry of Tourism sanctions 25 projects worth Rs. 2,048 Crore

Subscribe to Oneindia News

The Swadesh Darshan Scheme has now 25 projects worth Rs. 2,048 Crore so far to 21 States and Union Territories since its launch of in January 2015. Ministry of Tourism has sanctioned these projects in the following states and union territories:


Jammu and Kashmir, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Kerala, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh, Bihar, West Bengal, Sikkim, Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur and Tripura.

Aim of Swadesh Darshan Scheme:

The aim of the scheme is to position tourism as a major engine of economic growth and job creation. The Ministry of Tourism aims to promote India as a global brand and a world class tourist destination. For the same reason the ministry wants to develop world class infrastructure in varied thematic circuits and pilgrimage sites.

The Ministry of Tourism wants to showcase full potential of wide range of unique products and also provide complete tourism experience by enhancing tourist attractions.

One aim of Swadesh Darshan Scheme is to promote responsible tourism initiative with active involvement of local communities. The Ministry of Tourism also wishes to have a pro-poor approach in a sustainable and inclusive manner.

Projects Allocated:

To achieve this aims the ministry has allocated following projects to various regions of India:

For North Eastern States, the Ministry has sanctioned 9 projects worth Rs. 821 Crores covering all the 8 states.

For Tribal areas, the Ministry has sanctioned 3 projects for Rs. 282 Crores to the SG of Nagaland, Chhattisgarh and Telangana.

For Buddhist Circuit, the Ministry has sanctioned 2 projects worth Rs. 108.11 Crore to the SG of Bihar and Madhya Pradesh.

About Swadesh Darshan Scheme:

The Ministry of Tourism has launched the Swadesh Darshan Scheme in 2014-15 with an objective to develop theme based tourist circuits in the country on the principles of high tourist value, competitiveness and sustainability in an integrated manner by synergising efforts to focus on needs and concerns of all stakeholders to enrich tourist experience and enhance employment opportunities.

Thematic Circuits:

Under this scheme, 13 Thematic Circuits have been identified, for development namely: North-East India Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Heritage Circuit.

Please Wait while comments are loading...