West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee renames 6 cities

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Apr 23: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee renamed six townships in the state, officials said.

Of them, Siliguri will be known as Teesta, a major river in North Bengal, and Bolpur as 'Gitabitan', a popular compilation of songs of Rabindranath Tagore.


The twin industrial towns of Asansol-Durgapur will be known as 'Agnibina', a collection of poems by poet Kazi Najrul Islam.

Gajaldoba in Malda district has been rechristened as 'Mukta Tirtha', while Garia near this metropolis will become 'Uttam City', after the late matinee idol Uttam Kumar, the officials said.

Banerjee also renamed Kalyani, the township in Nadia district developed during the time of Bidhan Chandra Roy's chief ministership, as 'Samriddhi'.

A seventh satellite township, 'Viswa-Bangla' will come up later near the Eastern Metropolitan By-pass in the city to house government employees, the officials said.

Banerjee had also renamed several stations in metro railway in the city when she was Railway Minister.


Please Wait while comments are loading...