Sonia, Rahul accepted but not Mamata; CM Didi derails PM Modi's dream project

Posted By:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Dec 3: Everyone has been co-operating to the Prime Minister Narendra Modi in his dream project -- Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojna following which all MPs of the country have to adopt a village each.

Modi's arch rivals in politics -- Congress President Sonia Gandhi and Vice President Rahul Gandhi too accepted the scheme but the Prime Minister failed to get Mamata Banerjee on track. [Surprising: Sonia, Rahul Gandhi endorse Narendra Modi's scheme, adopt 2 villages]

Modi and Mamata

The West Bengal Chief Minister did not allow Trinamool Congress (TMC) MPs to adopt any village under the Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojna. Modi had urged all MPs to develop one model village in their respective constituencies by 2016 and adopt two more by 2019.

The TMC supremo asked its MPs to ignore the national scheme. West Bengal is the only state where the scheme failed to get started. Only two out ff the 42 Lok Sabha MPs and 16 Rajya Sabha MPs from West Bengal have adopted a village panchayat each so far. [Mamata's politics has pushed even BJP to pause rally during Azan]

SS Ahluwalia, one of the two BJP MPs from the state in the Lok Sabha and TMC MP Sultan Ahmed are the sole MPs who have adopted Hatighisa panchayat block in the Naxalbari district and Baniban in Howrah district respectively.

While it is clear that TMC MPs have not participated in the scheme as Mamata Banerjee is engaged in an open battle with the government at the centre, many raised questions regarding Congress and CPM MPs from the state. The Congress and CPM MPs from the state too have not adopted any village following the Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojna. [Mamata's nephew calls BJP as 'Bharatiya Joker's Party']

TMC has 46 members in Parliament with 34 in LS and 12 in RS, Congress has one in RS and four in LS and CPM has two in LS and three in RS, to make up for the total of 58 MPs from the state.

A Times of India report showed that some states like Haryana (13 MPs), Rajasthan (31), Uttar Pradesh (84), Gujarat (36), Bihar (47), Assam (13), Chhattisgarh (13), Kerala (28), Maharshtra (66), Tamil Nadu (44), among the others, have nearly completed the process of getting villages adopted by MPs.

Opposition party MPs adopted villages:

According to report, at least 800 MPs, 541 members - 413 from Lok Sabha and 128 of Rajya Sabha - have already selected villages. Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi are not the only one who adopted one village each. But MPs from other opposition parties such as SP's Mulayam Singh Yadav and JDU leader Sharad Yadav too adopted villages in their respective constituencies.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...