Koliwad elected Karnataka Assembly Speaker

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, July 5: Senior Congress MLA K B Koliwad was today unanimously elected as the 20th Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

Koliwad, a five-time MLA from Ranebennur constituency, had filed his nomination yesterday. He had served as Minister in the past. Koliwad succeeds Kagodu Thimmappa, who has been inducted into the Ministry as Revenue Minister by Chief Minister Siddaramaih in the recent cabinet rejig.

K B Koliwad

Siddaramaiah proposed the name of Koliwad while Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister T B Jayachandra seconded it following which he was elected as Speaker unopposed in a voice vote.

After Deputy Speaker Shivashankar Reddy formally announced Koliwad's election, he was escorted by Siddaramaiah, Opposition Leader Jagadish Shettar and JD(S) leader Y S V Datta to the Chair. Earlier, as the House met for the day, BJP members entered the Well demanding a probe into the alleged site allocation scam involving Bengaluru Development Authority but later relented after the Deputy Speaker asked them to allow the business of election of Speaker.

Congratulating Koliwad, Siddaramaiah thanked Opposition for its support in electing the Speaker unopposed.


Please Wait while comments are loading...