Know your state this LS poll: Assam

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Know your state this LS poll: Assam
Bangalore, April 5: The Lok sabha election is set to begin on April 7 and will continue till May 12. The results will be declared on May 16.

The election will see elections to 543 parliamentary seats across 28 states and seven Union territories (UT). OneIndia brings to you the poll statistics from each state and UT of the Union.

State: ASSAM

Election dates: April 7, 12 & 24

Number of LS Constuituencies: 14

Name of the constituencies: Barpeta, Dhubri, Dibrugarh,Gauhati, Jorhat, Kaliabor, Karimganj, Kokrajhar, Lakhimpur, Mangaldoi, Nowgong, Silchar, Tezpur 

2009 result: Congress -7, BJP -4, AIUDF- 1

2009 party-wise vote-share: 

Voters: 1.87 Crore (18 million)

No of polling booths: 24,275

Fact: The general elections in 14 parliamentary constituencies in Assam will be covered in three phases - 7 April 2014(5 constituencies); 12th April 2014(3 constituencies) and 24 April 2014(6 constituencies).

The Indian National Congress, which had won 7 seats in 2009, is confident of sweeping the elections this year too. The current state government is led by the Congress in coalition with the All India United democratic Front (AIUDF).

The opinion polls predict that Congress will win at least 9 seats, BJP 3 and AIUDF 2. 

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...