Khap leaders' bizarre diktat finds no buyers in Assembly polls

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Khap panchayat
Chandigarh, Oct 21:The Khap magic has failed to work in the Assembly polls. None of the Khap leaders who were known for their notoriety in issuing bizarre diktat stood victorious in the Assembly polls. This despite the fact that three out of four leaders were backed by main political parties BJP and INLD.

Khap leaders who tried their luck were Shamsher Singh Kharkhara of Athgama khap, Dada Baljit Singh Malik of Malik Khap, Santosh Dahiya, women chief of All India Khap Mahapanchayat and Tek Chand Kandela of Kandela khap.

Kharkhara, who was fighting on BJP ticket, finished second from Meham Assembly constituency. He lost to Congress' Anand Singh Dangi by 9,657 votes. Baljit Singh Malik who heads Malik khap, one of the largest Khap in northern India was also a BJP candidate from Baroda seat. Malik could get only 8,653 votes and finished third.

Santosh Dahiya, head of sarv khap sarv mahapanchayat (women wing) was fighting from INLD ticket from Beri assembly seat. Dahiya ended up at the fourth spot with 16,395 votes.

Tek Ram Kandela was fighting as an Independent candidate from Jind assembly seat, after been denied ticket by Congress. He ended at the sixth position by securing 11,223 votes and lost his deposits.

Imporatant to mention here is the fact that these khaps have drawn criticism in recent years for controversial diktats on same-gotra marriages and honour killings.

Some of the major Khaps in Haryana include Nogama, Kandela, Meham Choubasia, Khera, Ghatwal and Satrol which have influence in several Haryana districts like Jhajjar, Rohtak, Bahadurgarh, Sonipat, Jind, Hisar, Kaithal, Gurgaon, Bhiwani and Mahendragarh.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...