Jammu & Kashmir govt to release more prisoners, tremors in BJP-PDP alliance

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Srinagar, March 10: Tremors are felt in the BJP-PDP alliance in Jammu and Kashmir after the release of separatist leader Masarat Alam.

The call made by Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed to release political prisoners has embarassed the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the Centre, paving way to a fresh row in both houses of Parliament.


However, the PDP and Chief Minister is not at all ready for a change on its stand.

According to the latest report, the state government have a plan to release more than 500 prisoners.

Underlining the policy of state government as healing the wounds, Jammu and Kashmir Education Minister and PDP chief spokesperson Naeem Akthar told to DNA, "Our policy is not keeping people in jails beyond the call of law. That is our policy and there is nothing new about it. Everyone knows that we will pursue this policy. So we will not keep anybody in jail unless it is required by law,"

The expected list of political prisoners, which is yet to be released, includes separatist leaders Dr Ashiq Hussain Faktoo, Dr Muhammed Shafi Khan and Ghulam Qadir Bhat.

The PDP argues all the cases charged against the separatists at the time of Kashmir dispute as fake.

Dr Muhammed Qasim, husband of women's separatist group leader Aasiya Andhrabi, was arrested on February 5, 1993 along with Dr Mohammad Shafi Khan and Ghulam Qadir Bhat for their role in the murder of human rights activist H N Wanchoo. The Supreme Court later convicted the three in 2003.

Former Persian professor and separatist ideologue Dr Mohammed Shafi Khan alias Shafi Shariati, who was on the run for eight years, was arrested in 2011 for Wanchoo murder.

There were rumours regarding the hideouts of Shariati that he was getting support allegedly from the politicians for hiding. The apex court convicted the Kashmir University professor in 2003. Shariati has written a biography on Hurriyat Conference leader Sayed Ali Shah Geelani in 2010.

The other names considering for the release are AB Rashid, Muhammad Ayub Mir, Muhammad Ayub Dhar, Iqbal Jan and Mustaq Kaloo.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Lok Sabha has shared his outrage on Monday with the members on the releasing of separatist leader.

At the same time, the Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister on Tuesday telephoned Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and assured that the state will follow directives of court, while releasing political prisoners in the future.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...