Manohar Lal Khattar to take oath as Haryana CM: Know what's different this time

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Manohar Lal Khattar
Chandigarh, Oct 26: Finally the day has arrived when Manohar Lal Khattar will take oath as the new Haryana Chief Minister. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, all CMs of BJP-ruled states will attend the ceremony on Sunday, Oct 26.

Khattar's oath taking ceremony will create history for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as this would be the first time when the party will form its own government in Haryana ever since its inception in 1966.

The ceremony will see another change as unlike other CMs of the state, Khattar will be sworn-in at a public event and not at the Raj Bhavan.

Khattar will take oath at a public event, not at the Raj Bhavan in Haryana

The venue for the oath-taking function has been kept at Panchkula, which earlier used to be Chandigarh, the common capital of both Haryana and Punjab. [All you need to know about Haryana's newly elected CM Manohar Lal Khattar]

According to sources, security has been beefed up at the Sector 5 HUDA ground in Panchkula for the swearing-in ceremony. Haryana Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki will administer the oath of office to Khattar.

At least one lakh people were expected to attend the function, Haryana BJP sources informed. Over 3,000 policemen have been deployed around the venue.

In the 90-member Haryana Assembly, BJP bagged 47 seats, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) won 19 seats and its ally Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) got 1, Congress won 15 seats, Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC BL) won 2 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) managed 1 seat and five seats went to independent candidates.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...