For first time, BJP sweeps all 4 seats bordering Delhi

Posted By: PTI
Subscribe to Oneindia News
New Delhi, May 18: BJP not only won all seven seats in Delhi by big margins but also emerged victorious in the four seats adjoining the National Capital Region.

The BJP candidates for the seats of Gautambudh Nagar, Ghaziabad, Faridabad and Gurgaon all defeated their rivals by margins of over 2.5 lakh votes.

Gautambudh Nagar and Ghaziabad are in Uttar Pradesh while Faridabad and Gurgaon fall in Haryana. This is the first time that BJP has swept these seats bordering Delhi-NCR.

Former Army chief Gen. VK Singh, who recently joined the saffron party, defeated actor-turned-politician and Congress candidate Raj Babbar by a massive 5,67,260 votes in Ghaziabad.

Mahesh Sharma won the Gautam Buddha Nagar constituency -- comprising Noida and Greater Noida -- for BJP after defeating senior Samajwadi Party leader Narendra Bhatti.

Bhatti is the leader who had claimed that he got IAS officer Durga Shakti Nagpal suspended in just 40 minutes in the episode which had caused a furore in Uttar Pradesh last year.

The party was unstoppable in Gurgaon as well with its candidate Inderjit Singh Rao defeating top AAP leader Yogendra Yadav by 5,65,328 votes.

BJP also swept Faridabad by a huge margin with its candidate Krishan Pal trouncing Congress's Avtar Singh Bhadana by a margin of 4,66,873 votes. Pal got 6,52, 516 votes while Bhadana polled just 1,85,643 votes.


Please Wait while comments are loading...