Fissure in AAP ahead of polls! Two party MLAs refuse to contest Assembly elections

Subscribe to Oneindia News
AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal
New Delhi, Nov 7:The Aam Aadmi Party which is trying every bit to redeem its lost glory ahead of the Assembly elections suffered a setback on Thursday as two of its sitting MLAs refused to contest the ensuing elections. According to reports, the party MLAs Harish Khanna from Timarpur and Rajesh Garg from Rohini have refused to contest the polls.

However, both the leaders have not revealed the reasons of not entering the poll fray this time but some say both of them were not in favour of early elections. According to them, the party would not able to repeat its last Assembly polls' performance.

"I have some reservations with the way party has taken some decisions in the recent past. I had written to party leadership on July 6 expressing my inability to stand for elections," Khanna was quoted as saying in media reports.

Reports say some more party MLAs would follow the suite. According to some experts, the reason for the rebellion is lack of democracy within party. Experts say that almost all the decision in the party are either taken by Kejriwal or by Manish Sesodia, this has created fissure within the party.

Meanwhile, the BJP and Congress are mulling to field a strong leader against AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal from Gole Market area. Kejriwal won the seat in last Assembly elections defeating former Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit. According to reports, the parties could also field some film star from the Gole Market area.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...