Election Results 2013: Women power intact, Delhi loses CM to Rajasthan

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Sheila Dikshit and Vasundhara Raje
New Delhi, Dec 8: Assembly election results in four state -- Delhi, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh on Sunday, Dec 8 will change equations of all political parties, especially of Congress and BJP in the country. But one equation, i.e. total number of women Chief Ministers (CMs) in India remained intact.

While Congress's Sheila Dikshit is leading to lose power in Delhi, BJP's Vasundhara Raje is all to return to power in Rajasthan. West Bengal CM -- Mamata Banerjee and Tamil Nadu CM -- Jayalalithaa are the two other chief ministers who are symbols of women power.

Sheila Dikshit and her party in Delhi has been thrashed by BJP and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Around 11:30 am, BJP was leading in 34 seats, AAP got 24 seats and Congress got only 7 votes. Sheila Dikshit is behind of AAP's Arvind Kejriwal with a margin of more than 6,000 votes.

Sheila Dikshit and her party in Delhi has been thrashed by BJP and AAP

Similar kind of scenario has been noticed in Rajasthan. BJP is leading with 137 seats and Congress is lagging behind with 35 seats. Raje, meanwhile, thanked BJP's PM candidate Narendra Modi.

Raje was quoted as saying, "Modi is a very big factor. People have seen what he has done in Gujarat." Speaking about Lok Sabha election which is expected to be held by May 2014, Raje said, "This is the semi-final to what is going to happen."

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...