EC removes Birbhum SP, 3 other police officers

Written by: IANS
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, April 14: Cracking the whip hours after a day's visit by its full bench to West Bengal, the Election Commission on Thursday removed Birbhum district police superintendent Mukesh and officers of three police stations of the district where assembly polls will be held on April 17.

"On the basis of the assessment of election preparedness and overall law and order situation, as also the representation made by the national and state recognised political parties of West Bengal, during its visit to Kolkata on April 14, the commission has decided to transfer Mukesh, superintendent of police, Birbhum district," said a late night EC order.

Also read: People will 'showcause' EC on May 19: Mamata Banerjee

EC removes Birbhum SP

The order, signed by the poll panel's secretary B.K. Srivastava and communicated to chief secretary Basudeb Bandopadhyay, also announced that Sabya Sachi Raman Mishra would replace Mukesh with immediate effect.

A 2004 batch IPS officer, Mishra is now posted as superintendent of police, CID.

In a separate order, the commission announced that the officers in charge of three police stations -- Labhpur, Mayureswar and Bolpur -- were being transferred with immediate effect.

Also read: West Bengal polls 2016: Will abide by EC rules, says new Kolkata Police commissioner

The reasons for the three officers' removal were given as the same as those for Mukesh.

The communication, addressed to the director general of police, said the substitutes to the officers should be immediately posted in consultation with West Bengal's Chief Electoral Officer Sunil Gupta.

All four new officials have been directed to take charge by 2 p.m. on Friday.

The state government has been asked to send compliance reports with regard to the orders by 5 p.m. on Friday.


Please Wait while comments are loading...