Dinesh Oraon unanimously elected Jharkhand Speaker

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Jan 7: BJP's Dinesh Oraon was unanimously elected as the Speaker of Jharkhand Assembly on Wednesday.

Chief Minister Raghubar Das proposed his name and Social Welfare Minister Louis Marandi seconded it. Taking up the proposal, Protem Speaker Stephen Marandi announced Oraon's election as unanimous.

Dinesh Oraon is new J'khand Speaker
Oraon, who was the only one to have filed nomination yesterday, was escorted to the chair by Das and former chief minister and JMM leader Hemant Soren.

Earlier on Dec 28, veteran BJP leader Raghubar Das took oath as Jharkhand's 10th chief minister. 

Das is a BJP MLA from Jamshedpur East. 59-year-old Das is the first non-tribal chief minister of Jharkhand and sixth chief minister of the state since its creation in 2000.

Coming from a family of a labourer, Das recieved elementary education from Bhalubasa Harijan School.


Please Wait while comments are loading...