Delhi polls: BJP ally SAD announces candidates in 4 seats

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 21: BJP's old ally Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) on Tuesday announced the names of its four candidates for the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections.

Of the four, only in Rajouri Garden will Akalis fight on their own symbol.

Representational image

Manjinder Singh Sirsa will contest on SAD symbol from the Rajouri Garden constituency, while Harmeet Singh Kalka (Kalkaji), Jitender Pal Singh Shanty (Shahdara) and Avtar Singh Hit (Harinagar) will contest the election on BJP's symbol, a party spokesman said here.

The SAD had been contesting the four seats in Delhi, and last time it won three seats -- Kalkaji, Shahdra and Rajouri Garden.

[Also read: Delhi Assembly polls 2015]

In the last Assembly polls in Delhi, two candidates fought on Akali Dal symbol and two on BJP symbol.

SAD candidate Shyam Sharma who fought on BJP symbol from Hari Nagar lost the polls.

BJP declares remaining 4 candidates for Delhi assembly poll

This time Akali Dal had put its senior leader Hit from Hari Nagar, but he will contest on BJP symbol, a party spokesman said.

The approval to the names was given by SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal, the spokesman added.

BJP had on Tuesday declared a list of 62 candidates out of a total of 70 for the February 7 Delhi Assembly elections.

OneIndia News

(With agency inputs)

Please Wait while comments are loading...