Delhi battlefield: AAP ahead in all poll surveys, but BJP leads in 'satta bazaar'

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Feb 6: The speculations and predictions for the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections are running in full speed. Every major survey puts AAP in the lead but the betting market (satta bazaar) of Delhi still calls BJP its favorite.

AAP maintains its stronger hold over economically weaker, weaker sections and Muslims. Kejriwal marginally pips Kiran Bedi when it came to who does more "tamasha" than working for development in Delhi.

Delhi elections: Poll surveys favour AAP, but BJP is bookies’ favourite.
While Delhi has seen feverish campaigning with top BJP leaders like party chief Amit Shah to Prime Minister Narendra Modi holding rallies, the surveys reveal that voters still seem to favour AAP over BJP in the national capital. This, despite the BJP exuding confidence about a win with a clear majority. Shah in a recent interview had said, "In electoral politics, we never take any election lightly. We're assured of two-thirds majority in Delhi."

The India Today-Cicero pre-poll survey on Headlines Today channel projected a win for AAP giving it 38-46 seats while BJP has been projected to secure 19-25 seats.

The Congress has been placed way behind with only 3-7 seats. The vote share, according to the survey, for the AAP has been placed at 43.5 per cent, the BJP at 35.5 per cent and Congress at 13 per cent.

AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal has got 44 per cent votes for the CM post while BJP's Kiran Bedi has got 35 per cent votes. In the ‘poll of polls' on Times Now channel based on the results of five polls, AAP gets 34 out of 70, BJP 32 and Congress 4.

Earlier, the ABP Nielsen poll had projected 35 seats for AAP, 29 for BJP and 6 for Congress. C-Voter gave AAP 28, BJP 37 and Congress 5. The ET-TNS survey predicted 38 for AAP, 30 for BJP and 2 for Congress. An HT survey had given AAP 39, BJP 30 and 5 for Congress. The Week poll gave AAP 29 seats while crediting BJP with 36 seats. Congress' position was pegged at 4. In the 2013 polls, BJP had won 31 seats, AAP came victorious in 28 seats and Congress 8.


Please Wait while comments are loading...