Delhi Assembly polls 2015: Satish Upadhyay to head BJP election committee

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 14: The BJP on Tuesday evening announced a 21-member poll committee to oversee the February 7 Delhi assembly elections.

BJP Delhi unit chief Satish Upadhyay will lead committee which will oversee the party's campaign for the February 7 Assembly polls in the national capital.

Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay

The committee will have all the seven Delhi MPs -- Vardhan, Lekhi, Pravesh Sahib Singh Verma, Udit Raj, Manoj Tiwari, Ramesh Bidhuri and Maheish Girri.

Delhi Assembly polls 2015: Facts at a glance

Apart from these MPs, Rajya Sabha member and former Delhi BJP president Vijay Goel, senior party leader Jagdish Mukhi, Vijay Kumar Malhotra, councillor Ashish Sood, Vijendra Gupta, Mange Ram Garg, Kamal Jeet Sehrawat are among the leaders who have been included in the party's Election Committee.

Ahead of Delhi Assembly polls, Buta Singh's son Arvinder joins BJP

Upadhyay also involved party leaders RP Singh, Dr. Anil Jain, Shyam Lal Garg, Rekha Gupta and Shyam Lal as special invitee in the committee.

Filing of nomination papers for coming Delhi elections begins on Thursday. The last date for filing nominations is January 21. 

Counting of votes for the election to the 70-member Assembly will be held on February 10, ahead of the expiry of President's Rule which was imposed in the national capital on February 15 last year.

In last Assembly polls in Delhi in 2013 December, BJP had bagged 31 seats in addition to one by its ally SAD, falling short of a simple majority in the 70-member House. AAP had won in 28 seats, followed by eight of Congress.

OneIndia News
(With agency inputs)

Please Wait while comments are loading...