Delhi: AAP opposes revision of petitions for tariff hike by discoms

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 10: Fifteen AAP MLAs have opposed the petitions seeking tariff hike by power discoms, charging that the power distribution companies are misleading the Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission.

In a letter to the DERC, the MLAs have cited reasons why petitions of the discoms for hike in tariff should not be entertained by the regulator.

Delhi: AAP opposes revision of petitions for tariff hike by discoms.
In a statement by AAP, the party said its MLAs have questioned the basis on which the discoms are seeking a higher rate of interest on the working capital and also the discrepancies in the power procurement prices cited by them.

"Each of these MLAs have also given their names to the DERC for being given a chance to be personally present during the public hearings on the discoms petitions. Discoms are misleading the public citing regulations as the main reason for their default payments. Inefficiency of discoms cannot be allowed to burden the public.

"These MLAs have pointed out that keeping all the facts and circumstances in mind, the DERC should order the discoms to immediately reduce the electricity tariffs for domestic consumers to restore its credibility as an impartial regulator," the statement said.

The legislators have also alleged that attempts have been made to hide non-tariff income and cited examples of alleged financial mismanagement and "unrealisitic projection" of future increase in the tariff.

They have also alleged faulty methods used in reading the meters of consumers and wrong methodology applied under the garb of day and night metering.

The MLAs who wrote to the DERC are: Anil Bajpai (Gandhinagar), Adarsh Shastri (Dwarka), Pawan Kumar Sharma (Adarsh Nagar), Bhawna Gaur (Palam), Rajesh Rishi (Janakpuri), SK Bagga (Krishnagar), Amanatullah Khan (Okhla), Fateh Singh (Gokalpur), Naresh Yadav (Mehrauli) Jarnail Singh (Tilak Nagar), Avtar Singh Kalkaji (Kalkaji), SS Dalal (Mundka), Gulab Singh (Matiala), Akhilesh Pati Tripathi (Model Town) and Ritu Raj (Kirari).


Please Wait while comments are loading...