Bypolls to be held in Mizoram autonomous councils

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bypolls to be held in Mizoram autonomous councils
Aizawl, Dec 14: Results of the election to the 40-member Mizoram Assembly held on November 25 would necessitate a number of by-elections in the autonomous district councils and Aizawl Municipal Council, sources in the State Election Commission said today.

The sources said that one member each from the three autonomous district councils successfully contested the recently concluded state assembly polls while one councillor of the Aizawl Municipal Council also was elected to the assembly.

Those who were elected to the state legislature included C Ngunlianchunga of the Congress who was the Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the Lai Autonomous District Council (LADC), Dr BD Chakma, CEM of Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) and Hiphei, former Chairman of Mara Autonmous District Council (MADC), all of them contesting on Congress tickets.

Ngunlianchunga and Chakma have to resign as CEMs and also vacate the seats where they were elected as Members of the District Council (MDC) while Hiphei had already submitted his resignation as Chairman of the MADC to the state governor Vakkom Purushothaman before contesting the assembly polls.

Lalthanliana of the Mizoram People's Conference (MPC), the only successful candidate of the party in the assembly polls also would have to vacate the ward from where he was elected as a councillor in 2010 and necessitated by-polls in the Aizawl Municipal Council. Elections to the local bodies including Municipal Council and Autonomous District Councils were conducted by the State Election Commission. 


Please Wait while comments are loading...