BJP tames Sena, MNS in triangular contest to win NMC bypolls

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Nashik, Aug 29: BJP has wrested two municipal wards from Shiv Sena in the bypolls held for as many corporator seats in Nashik Municipal Corporation.

The poll outcome is also a huge setback for Raj Thackeray-led Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, which is currently ruling the NMC, with the party candidates facing defeat in the triangular contests.

NMC bypolls: BJP tames Sena, MNS

After counting of votes today, Mandabai Dhikale of BJP was declared winner from ward no 35 and Sunanda More from ward no 36, both located in Nashik Road area.

Dhikale defeated Sena's Vrushali Nathe, MNS' Shantabai Shejval and NCP's Vandana Chalisgaonkar. Dhikale was polled 1946 votes while her nearest rival Nathe bagged 1748 votes.

In ward no. 36, BJP's Sunanda More (1937 votes) trounced Sena's Sunil Shelar (1397 votes), Praveen Pawar of MNS (720 votes) and Congress' Shashibai Unhavne (1446 votes).

The byelections were necessitated following disqualification of Shobhana Shinde (ward no. 35) and Nilesh Shelar (ward no. 36) by district Collector for joining other parties.


Please Wait while comments are loading...