Bihar Election Results: NDA performed badly even in Union Ministers' backyards

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Nov 10: Bihar Assembly election results came as a major shock to the BJP-led NDA alliance, but what's more surprising is that the alliance performed badly even in the pocket-borough's of its union ministers from the state.

An analysis of results show that the NDA win maximum number of seats from Purvi Champaran, the Parliamentary constituency of Union Minister Radha Mohan Singh. It also emerged as the best performing district for the NDA in Bihar.

Bihar: NDA lost on its ministers' turfs

The NDA won in 4 out of 6 assembly segments of Purvi Champaran. Motihari, Kalyanpur and Pipra were won by BJP while Govindganj seat went in LJP's favour.

The NDA won 8 out of 12 assembly seats in the district. Radha Mohan Singh, a veteran BJP leader from the state, has been a part of Modi Government since May 2014.

[Nitish Kumar likely to take oath as Bihar CM on Nov 20; cabinet to have more RJD ministers than JD-U]

While, Upendra Kushwaha and Ram Kripal Yadav turned out to be the worst performers. The alliance got only one seat each from their respective constituencies of Karakat and Pataliputra.

Ram Kripal Yadav represents Pataliputra in Lok Sabha and is MoS Drinking Water and Sanitation in the Modi Cabinet. All five assembly constituencies from his parliamentary seat went in favour of the grand alliance, except for Danapur assembly segment. Yadav, a former RJD leader, joined BJP ahead of 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Kushwaha's party Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) had fielded 23 candidates across the state but came out victorious on only two of these seats.

Same was the case in the parliamentary constituencies of other Ministers from Bihar such as Ram Vilas Paswan, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Giriraj Singh. The allaince pitted against Nitish-Lalu-Congress' Grand Alliance failed to even given them a stiff competition.

What is embarrassing for the BJP-led NDA alliance that only a year ago it had fared exceptionally well in these constituencies of Bihar, hence the massive mandate, during Lok Sabha Elections 2014. Thus, it is high time party introspects and asks its ministers to regain lost grounds on their home turfs.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...