AAP updates: Vinod Binny meets Kejriwal

Subscribe to Oneindia News
AAP updates: Cabinet announcement today, leaders try to pacify Binny
New Delhi, Dec 25: The Aam Aadmi Party leaders gathered at Vinod Kumar Binny's residence late on Tuesday night to pacify the miffed MLA and save the party from embarrassment. 

2:54pm: The AAP leader Vinod Binny meets Arvind Kejriwal at the latter's residence

2:30pm: "Please give us as much attention as we deserve": Yogendra Yadav

 "AAP does not deserve so much attention... Please give us as much attention as we deserve...", said AAP leader Yogendra Yadav. "We have no system of handling media yet... What happened yesterday, all the speculation, we knew they were false but probably no one from the party spoke to the media to clear it", he added.

1.55 pm: Kejriwal's swearing-in likely on Saturday, December 28

1.44 pm:"Will try to invite Anna for swearing-in ceremony"

Arvind Kejriwal said as soon as the date of the swearing-in ceremony is finalised, he would try to talk to Anna Hazare and invite him.

12.40 pm: JD(U) MLA meets Arvind Kejriwal

JD(U)'s only MLA from Delhi Shoaib Iqbal met Kejriwal on Wednesday.

12:12pm: ""We aren't supporting AAP, but their manifesto"

Congress leader Sandeep Deekshit said that the Congress is not supporting the AAP, but their manifesto. The AAP leader Yogendra Yadav repeated on Wednesday that AAP is not forming an alliance with Congress, but taking their external support. 

Bishen Singh Bedi meets Kejriwal

The AAP's popularity seems to be surging. On Wednesday, former cricketer Bishen Singh Bedi met Arvind Kejriwal at latter's residence. More details are awaited. Bedi tweeted after meeting Kejriwal, "Met A Kejriwal at home-luvly humble folks!But AKejriwal not teribly 'aam'- he's vry special carying hopes of milions fr time 2 tell Ind's lot"

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet blockquote" lang="en"><p>Met AKejriwal at home-luvly humble folks!But AKejriwal not teribly 'aam'- he's vry special carying hopes of milions fr time 2 tell Ind's lot</p>— Bishan Bedi (@BishanBedi) <a href="https://twitter.com/BishanBedi/statuses/415734896628609024">December 25, 2013</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

11:20am: Congress firm on support to AAP

Congress leadership on Wednesday said they were firm on its stand to extend support to the AAP. "No rethink on the matter", the leaders said.

10.25 am: BJP slams Congress over supporting AAP

The BJP slams the Congress, says it is backing the AAP in Delhi only to stop Narendra Modi's forward march.

9:43 am: Swearing in ceremony on Thursday unlikely

As per the latest reports, Kejriwal is unlikely to take oath on Thursday as Lt Governor Najeeb Jung is yet to send confirmation. It had been decided that Arvind Kejriwal will take oath as chief minister and his cabinet will take charge on Thursday at a function at Ramlila Maidan. 

Kejriwal said his party will fulfil all promises made in its election manifesto and will set up new schools, hospitals and courts.

9.20 am: Arvind Kejriwal denies rift in the AAP.

9:00 am: No issues, says Binny

Vinod Kumar Binny on Wednesday said there is no internal rift in AAP. "I am here to serve the people", he said. 

8:00 am: Leaders try to pacify Binny

Reportedly, MLA Vinod Kumar Binny was miffed with the party leadership for not offering him a cabinet seat. The party denied reports of internal rift over cabinet formation. The AAP will make the official cabinet announcement today, said sources. As per reports, apart from Arvind Kejriwal, who will take oath as the chief minister, the cabinet will include Somnath Bharti, Manish Sisodia, Girish Soni, Rakhi Birla, Saurabh Bhardwaj and Satyendra Jain.

The new ministers

Manish Sisodia, a former journalist, won from the Patparganj seat defeating Nakul Bhardwaj of BJP by 11,478 votes. Sisodia has been Kejriwal's closest aide right from the beginning.

Saurabh Bhardwaj, 34, defeated Ajay Kumar Malhotra, son of veteran BJP leader VK Malhotra, by 13,092 votes in Greater Kailash. He is an engineer by training. 

Somnath Bharti, 39, who was also president of the IIT-Delhi alumni association, defeated BJP's Arti Mehra and Kiran Walia of Congress in Malviya Nagar. Before joining AAP, he was a lawyer practicing with the Supreme Court.

Rakhi Birla, a former journalist, defeated Raj Kumar Chauhan, a minister in the Sheila Dikshit government, from Mangolpuri. She is the youngest MLA from her party. Before joining the AAP, she was actively involved in social works.

Satyendra Jain, , is an architect by training. He was also actively involved in social works before joining the AAP. 

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...