AAP rebels form 'Swaraj Samvad' panel for Ahmedabad district

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ahmedabad, May 31:  Former Aam Aadmi Party members from Gujarat, who now owe allegiance to rebel leader Yogendra Yadav, today formed a 'Swaraj Samvad' committee for Ahmedabad district.

"The district-based workers today unanimously selected K R Koshti as the convener and Nazar Soni as the secretary of 'Swaraj Samvad' in a meeting presided over by the observer and the member of National Steering Committee of 'Swaraj Samvad', Nachiketa Desai," a statement issued by office-bearers said, adding Parag Panchal has been appointed as treasurer.


Koshti, who had filed two court cases against Prime Minister Narendra Modi for allegedly filing a defective affidavit during the 2012 polls and alleged violation of the model code of conduct, was the member of AAP's legal cell. The district committee has also appointed other five members namely Ayub Juneja, Naseeruddin Sheikh, Imran Sheikh, Mansvi Thapar and Kunal Patel, it said.

"The members have also passed a proposal stating they will remove the office-bearers from their respective posts if their functioning is not satisfactory and appoint a new team," as per the statement. The district panel is an ad hoc committee, Desai told PTI, adding the members will be elected again after they add five thousand workers with them in the district. Like Koshti, Panchal, Soni and Thapar were also active in AAP before the Yadav-led group fell out with Arvind Kejriwal, Desai said. Yadav has been organising 'Swaraj Samvad' initiative with a claim to create a new model and connect with the people throughout the country.

He, along with another rebel leader Anand Kumar, had last week organised one such 'Swaraj Samvad' in the city. However, they were forced to address a gathering outside a hall as police had denied them permission for the event. PTI AC NSK IKA RDS

Please Wait while comments are loading...