AAP protest: 4 metro stations to remain closed till further notice

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 20: Four Metro stations near the North block will remain shut today until further notice in view of protest by Aam Aadmi Party to demand action against Delhi Police personnel for alleged dereliction of duty. "All four stations to remain closed till further instructions," DMRC spokesperson said.

As advised by Delhi Police, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation closed exit from stations -- Patel Chowk, Central Sect, Udyog Bhawan and Race Course from 9 AM in wake of dharna by AAP at North block. The interchange at Central Secretariat will continue and controlled exit of government employees from Central Secretariat will be allowed after checking their ID cards, the spokesperson said.

The Delhi CM and his ministers were protesting seeking suspension of cops

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and his ministers began a dharna outside Rail Bhavan this morning demanding action against police officials who refused to carry out a raid on an alleged drug and prostitution racket in South Delhi last week.

Defying prohibitory orders in force in the high-security area near the seat of power, Kejriwal accompanied by six of his ministers attempted to go to North Block housing the Home Ministry to lodge their protest. Kejriwal had demanded action against the accused policemen who allegedly refused to cooperate with Law Minister Somnath Bharti in cracking down on a suspected drug and prostitution racket in South Delhi.

The AAP government had also sought action against a policeman, who had a tiff with Women and Child Development Minister Rakhi Birla in Sagarpur of West Delhi over a dowry death case. The Chief Minister had also blamed police for the way in which it handled the gangrape case of a Danish tourist on Tuesday last.


Please Wait while comments are loading...