6th phase of Lok Sabha election 2014 today

Subscribe to Oneindia News
6th phase of Lok Sabha election 2014 tomorrow
New Delhi, April 23: The country is gearing up for the sixth phase of the general elections set to be held on Thursday.

117 constituencies spread across 12 states will go to polls. Campaigning came to an end on Tuesday evening in all the constituencies, which include all 39 seats from Tamil Nadu, 19 of 48 from Maharashtra, 12 of 80 from Uttar Pradesh, 10 of 29 from Madhya Pradesh, 7 of 40 from Bihar, 7 of 11 in Chhattisgarh, 6 of 14 from Assam, 6 of 42 from West Bengal, the 5 of 25 from Rajasthan, 4 of 14 from Jharkhand, 1 of 6 from Jammu & Kashmir and the lone seat from Puducherry.

A total of 2076 candidates are in the fray in tomorrow's polling and a total of 219511409 voters will exercise their voting rights.

Some of the Union Ministers whose fate will be decided on Thursday are Salman Khurshid, Milind Deora, Namo Narayan Meena, Jitendra Singh and Tariq Anwar, Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj and Samajwadi Party (SP) supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav. Others prominent personalities in poll fray include actor-turned politician Hema Malini of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), former Indian cricket captain Mohammed Azharuddin and President Pranab Mukherjee's son Abhijit Mukherjee.

Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu has a single-phase polling tomorrow. More than 5.51 crore voters will decide the fate of 845 candidates in the state.

In Maharashtra, 3.17 crore voters will go to polls to choose from amongst 338 candidates in the 19 constituencies tomorrow.

Uttar Pradesh

In Uttar Pradesh, there are a total of 188 candidates are contesting from 12 constituencies, which have a total electorate of 2.03 crore.

Salman Khurshid is the Congress candidate from Farukkhabad and Lalu Prasad Yadav is contesting from his traditional constituency of Mainpuri. Bollywood actress Hema Malini is the BJP candidate from the Mathura seat. UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav is also contesting tomorrow.

Madhya Pradesh

BJP's senior leader Sushma Swaraj is contesting from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh, where there are 118 candidates in the fray. 10 constituencies are going to polls tomorrow and a total of 1.69 crore voters will exercise their voting rights.


there are 108 candidates in the seven constituencies going to the polls, with a total electorate of 1.04 crore.
Prominent contestants in Bihar tomorrow include Mr Anwar, BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain and RJD leader Mohammad Taslimuddin. In all,


In Chhattisgarh, tomorrow's polling will involve 1.18 crore voters in seven constituencies with 153 contestants in the fray.


In Assam, there are 74 candidates in the fray in the contest in six constituencies which have a total of 94 lakh voters.


In Rajasthan, 80 lakh voters are eligible to vote tomorrow in five constituencies in which there are a total of 81 candidates.


In Jharkhand, there are 72 candidates in the four constituencies going to the polls tomorrow, including JMM leader Shibu Soren and former Chief Minister Babulal Marandi of the JVM-P. The four constituencies have a total electorate of 61 lakh.

Jammu and Kashmir

Twelve candidates are in the contest for the Anantnag seat in Jammu & Kashmir, which has a total of 13 lakh voters.


In Puducherry, which has an electorate of 9 lakh voters, there are 30 candidates in the fray for the lone seat.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...