2006 train blast: List of convicted persons, sentencing on Monday

Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sept 11: The sentencing in the 2006 serial train blasts of Mumbai will take place on Monday. The Special MCOCA court convicted 12 persons today while acquitting one. Special MCOCA court judge, Y Shinde said in the court that the quantum of the sentence will be pronounced on Monday.

The verdict in the case comes as a closure to the families of 187 victims who lost their lives when 7 powerful blasts ripped through the compartments of trains in Mumbai. The blasts ripped through the compartments of the trains in 8 minutes and which claimed 187 lives and injured over 800.

2006 Mumbai serial blasts accused being taken to the Sessions Court in Mumbai

The trial in the case which commenced in 2007 faced several hurdles. The Supreme Court had stayed the trial in 2008 following a plea by one of the accused who challenged the provisions of the MCOCA. The stay was finally vacated in the year 2010.

The list of persons convicted:

Among those convicted in the case are Tanvir Ahmed Ansari (37), Mohd Sajid Ansari (35) Ehtesham Siddiqui (30), Kamal Ahamed Ansari (37), , Mohd Faisal Shaikh (36), Zamir Ahmad Shaikh (36), Mohammad Majid Shafi (32), Shaikh Alam Shaikh (41), Muzzammil Shaikh (27), Soheil Mehmood Shaikh (43), Naveed Hussain Khan (30) and Asif Khan (38) were convicted for these blasts.

One person Abdul Wahid Shaikh has been acquitted in the case as the charges against him could not be proven by the prosecution. All those convicted are expected to move the Bombay High Court against the conviction in the case.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...