Flashback: 1 year since Narendra Modi swept India with a saffron brush

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bengaluru, May 16: Saturday marked the first anniversary of the results of the Lok Sabha election 2014. It was a memorable general election results day for it saw a party getting majority by itself after 1984 when Rajiv Gandhi came to power with over 400 seats. [State-wise results of Lok Sabha election 2014]

The BJP led by Narendra Modi won 282 seats in the 543-member Lok Sabha while the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by the BJP grabbed 334 seats. [PM Modi thanks the nation for historic mandate]


The Congress, which was leading the ruling United Progressive Alliance (UPA) coalition till then, finished as the second largest party but with mere 44 seats. It was the worst-ever result by the grand-old party in a general election after the 1999 election when it had won just 114 seats. The UPA's tally was 59, over 200 less than that of 2009.

The Tamil Nadu-based AIADMK won 37 seats while West Bengal's Trinamool Congress won 34 seats.

In terms of vote-share, the BJP bagged 31.13 per cent while the Congress got 19.5 per cent. The BJP/NDA swept states like Uttar Pradesh (NDA won 73 out of 80 seats), Bihar (NDA won 31 out of 40 seats), Chhattisgarh (BJP won 10 of 11 seats), Goa (BJP won both seats), Gujarat (BJP won all 26 seats), Haryana (Bjp won 7 out of 10 seats), Jharkhand (BJP won 12 out of 14 seats), Himachal Pradesh (BJP won all 4 seats), Madhya Pradesh (BJP won 27 of 29 seats), Maharashtra (NJDA won 42 out of 48 seats), Rajasthan (BJP won all 25 seats), Delhi (BJP won all 7 seats), Uttarkhand (BJP won all 5 seats) and five Union Territories (BJP won all 5 seats).

The saffron party even did well in states like Jammu and Kashmir (3 out of 6 seats), West Bengal (more in terms of vote-share), Assam (7 of 14 seats) and Tamil Nadu (2 seats) where it has not been a strong force traditionally.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...