Manipur Assembly election 2012

Written by: Super Admin
Subscribe to Oneindia News

With the year 2012 kicking off the poll fever in India, the months of Jan and Feb will see the election scene hotting up in five states. Manipur is one of the states that will witness the Assembly elections in 2012. The Assembly polls is scheduled to be held on Jan 28 while the crucial counting of votes will be carried out on Mar 6. The time it would be an acid test for Okram Ibobi Singh who helped Indian National Congress (INC) grab power in the state for last two consecutive years. The main opposition party consist of Manipur People's Party, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Janata Dal United (JD-U).

Read the latest news on the Manipur Assembly elections 2012 here.

Manipur will see polls carried out in 60 constituencies for which 2,357 polling stations are to be setup. The electorate has a total of 17,40,820, 8,51,323 men and 8,89,497 women. The major electoral issues are territorial integrity, related to the entry of the Nagaland People's Front which is the ruling party in neighbouring Nagaland into the electoral politics of Manipur. The economic blockade imposed by insurgents cutting off essential food supplies and other items is a major topic that weighed heavily in the Manipur political scene last year.

Manipur (Total 60 ACs)
Party 2012 2007 Margin
INC 42 30 +12
NCP 1 5 -4
MPP - 5 -
RJD - 3 -
NPP - 3 -
- 15 -
Manipur Partywise Result Status
Status Known For 60 out of 60 Constituencies
Party Won Leading Total
Indian National Congress 42 0 42
Thrinamool Congress 7 0 7
Others 11 0 11
Schedule for General Election to the Legislative Assembly of Manipur 2012
SL. No. Poll Event Dates 1 Issue of Notification 04.01.2012 (Wednesday) 2 Last date for making Nominations 11.01.2012 (Wednesday) 3 Scrutiny of Nominations 12.01.2012 (Thursday) 4 Last date for withdrawal of candidature 14.01.2012 (Saturday) 5 Date of Poll 28.01.2012 (Saturday) 6 Counting of Votes 06.03.2012 (Tuesday) 7 Date before which election process shall be completed 09.03.2012 (Friday)

Read all related stories about other state assembly polls :

Uttarkhand Assembly election 2012

Goa Assembly election 2012

Uttar Pradesh assembly election 2012

Punjab Assembly election 2012

Please Wait while comments are loading...