Goa Assembly election 2012

Subscribe to Oneindia News

With sunshine state of Goa too going to polls this year, the upcoming Assembly elections in 2012 will see a show of strength for the Congress-NCP alliance that has managed to bag a majority of seats in the 2007 elections. The polls are scheduled to be held on Mar 3 with the counting slated to be held on Mar 6. The Indian National Congress will face this years polls with its ally, the Nationalist Congress Party, under Chief Minister Digambar Kamat. The main opposition, BJP will also show their mettle under the leadership of former Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar. The rampant mining in the state is a crucial election issue with the BJP trying hard to woo the Catholic voters in the state.

Read all the latest news on the Goa Assembly election 2012 here.

Goa (Total 40 ACs)
Party 2012 2007 Margin
INC 9 16 -7
BJP 21 14 +7
NCP 3 3 -
MAG 3 2 +1
UGDP 2 1 +1
2 4 -2
Goa Partywise Result Status
Status Known For 40 out of 40 Constituencies
Party Won Leading Total
Indian National Congress+ 9 0 9
Bharatiya Janata Party+ 24 0 24
Others 7 0 7
Schedule for General Election to the Legislative Assembly of Goa 2012
SL. No. Poll Event Dates 1 Issue of Notification 06.02.2012 (Monday) 2 Last date for making Nominations 13.02.2012 (Monday) 3 Scrutiny of Nominations 14.02.2012 (Tuesday) 4 Last date for withdrawal of candidature 16.02.2012 (Thursday) 5 Date of Poll 03.03.2012 (Saturday) 6 Counting of Votes 06.03.2012 (Tuesday) 7 Date before which election process shall be completed 09.03.2012 (Friday)

Read all related stories about other state assembly polls :

Uttarkhand Assembly election 2012

Manipur Assembly election 2012

Uttar Pradesh assembly election 2012

Punjab Assembly election 2012

Please Wait while comments are loading...