Good performance of TDP in local elections a boost for NDA

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Hyderabad, May 12: In what is being described as the "semifinal results" before the general election results, the urban local body poll results have indicated good performance of Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which will act as a boost to the NDA.

[Read: TDP also sweeps rural elections in Seemandhra]

In a major blow to YSR Congress president YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, in his home district Kadapa, his party got three and TDP got four.

Here are results of Seemandhra and Telangana:


Total municipalities: 92

TDP- 64, YSR Congress- 19, Hung- 9

Total Corporations: 7

TDP- 5, YSRCP- 2


Total Municipalities: 53

Congress- 23, TRS- 9, TDP- 6, BJP- 2, MIM- 1, BSP- 1

Total corporations: 3

Congress-1, TRS-1, Hung- 1

Local sources said the confidence in TDP increased after Chandrababu Naidu tied up with BJP.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) swept the urban body polls in Seemandhra, winning power in five corporations and 58 municipalities. The YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) bagged two corporations and 16 municipalities. It will be hung civic bodies in 18 towns.

Overall, the TDP has bagged 1,446 seats (divisions or wards) and the YSR Congress 852 in Seemandhra. Others, majority of them independents, have won 120 seats. The Congress finished a poor third with 55 seats.

Barring Kadapa and Kurnool, it was the TDP which dominated Seemandhra.

[Seemandhra municipal poll results people's victory: Chandrababu Naidu]

On March 30, municipal elections took place in 146 municipalities and 10 municipal corporations in both Telangana and Seemadhra.

Over 95 lakh voters casted their votes to elect candidates for 3,990 wards in 146 municipalities, and 2,507 divisions in 10 municipal corporations.

As all the political parties took the municipal polls seriously, the results have also reflected the mood of the electorate.

The municipal elections were held after a gap after three years as the Congress government had been delaying the polls since October 2010.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...