Poll Updates: 79% voter turnout recorded in Assam

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Guwahati, Apr 11: Sixty-one assembly constituencies will go to polls today in the second and final phase of Assembly elections in Assam.

The polling will be held from 7 a.m. till 5 p.m. at 12,699 polling stations in the 61 constituencies spread across 13 districts. 525 candidates are in the fray in this second and final round of voting in Assam.

[Special coverage: Assembly elections 2016]

Also read: Top contests of Assam polls 2016: Sarbananda Sonowal vs Rajiv Lochan Pegu

Also read: Assam polls 2016: A look at past results (1952-2011)


Live: Second phase of polling in Assam

Get all the live updates here:

7.30 pm: In Assam also, by and large poll was peaceful except one incident in Barpeta: Election Commission.

7.25 pm: Voter turnout was 82.02% in Assam at 5 pm today, this could change when final figure comes in: Election Commission.

7.20 pm: In morning Assam CM addressed a press conference in Guwahati which is a violation as per RP act 126, as it may influence the voters: EC.

7.15 pm: 78.09 per cent polling in Assam, voters still in queue.

6.00 pm: Polling concludes.

5.10 pm: Around 75% voter turnout recorded in Assam till 5 pm.

3.55 pm: 69.50% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm in Assam.

3.25 pm: 62% voter turnout recorded till 3 pm in Assam.

1.58 pm: 55.3 % polling recorded till 1 pm during Phase 2 in Assam

1.45 pm: Voters of Assam will reward Congress for good work, says Manmohan Singh

1.40 pm: 50% voter turnout recorded till 12 pm in Assam.

1.20 pm: Former PM Dr. Manmohan Singh casts his vote in Dispur for final phase of Assam Assembly polls.

12.40 pm: Clash between CRPF and voters during Assam polls. One dead and several injured in lathicharge.

12.10 pm: Election Commission terms CM Tarun Gogoi's press meet a violation of Model Code of Conduct.

11.50 am: 35% polling recorded in Assam till 11 am.

11.08 am: 25% polling reported in Assam till 10 am.

11.03 am: "For the first time, I have seen Election Commission not being impartial in the state," CM Tarun Gogoi says.

10.48 am: BJP CM candidate Sarbananda Sonowal urges people to vote in the final phase of Assam assembly elections

10.45 am: CM Tarun Gogoi holds press meet because he didn't receive Election Commission's order in writing.

9.45 am: Former CM PK Mahanta casts his vote in Nagaon

9.42 am: 16% polling reported in Assam till 9 am.

9.05 am: "AIUDF will be Kingmaker in Assam," says party chief Badruddin Ajmal.

8.40 am: Women dance and celebrate after casting their vote at a polling booth in Kokrajhar in the final phase

7.50 am: All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) chief Badruddin Ajmal casts his vote in the final phase.

7.33 am: Former prime minister Manmohan Singh and his wife will cast their votes in Dispur, Assam today, where they are registered as voters.

7.25 am: People in large numbers queue up outside a polling booth in Guwahati, voting underway for the final phase

7.10 am: Nagaon: Voting underway for the second and final phase in Assam

7.02 am: Phase 2 polling begins in 61 constituencies in Assam.

7.00 am: People queue up outside a polling booth in Nagaon, Assam.

6.50 am: People seen queueing up outside a polling booth in Assam ahead of the final phase of voting.

6.45 am: Preparations underway ahead of the second and final phase of voting in Assam

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...