Record voter turnout in Tripura, Assam, Goa, Sikkim

Subscribe to Oneindia News
LS Polls
Gangtok/Guwahati/ Panaji/ April 12: The fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections will take place today in Goa, Assam, Tripura and Sikkim in 7 seats. In Assam 3 seats will witness the phase two of the polls as 37 candidates are in fray.

[See 2009 results of phase 4]

7:00 pm:

70% voter turnout reported in Sikkim.

The voter turnout was high in all the four states and electioneering was largely peaceful, IANS reported.

Dhirendra Ojha, director in the Election Commission, said in Delhi that Tripura's second Lok Sabha seat recorded a voter turnout of 81.8 percent, while Sikkim recorded 76 percent voter turnout. Both of Goa's seats and Assam's three seats saw 75 percent balloting, said Ojha.

6:30 pm:

Almost 70 percent of the electorate in Sikkim on Saturday voted for the lone Lok Sabha seat and the 32-member state assembly in eight hours of polling, officials said.

Balloting picked up as the day progressed, as voters turned up in large numbers at the 538 polling booths across the state. Polling was scheduled to close by 5 pm, IANS reported.

3:00 pm: 

Around 66 percent voters in Tripura, the majority of them tribals, cast their ballots till 2 pm 

"Balloting took place in tribal reserve Tripura East constituency with no untoward incident reported so far. The polling was absolutely peaceful in the parliamentary constituency," Tripura Chief Electoral Officer Ashutosh Jindal told IANS.

1.15 pm:

Voter turnout till 12 pm:

Goa- 28 per cent
Sikkim- 26
Assam- 32 per cent
Tripura- 38 pe cent

12.15 pm:

Voter turnout in North Goa was recorded at 38.92 per cent and South Goa at 36.23 per cent till 11 am.

11.25 am:

22 per cent voting registered in Assam till 10 am.

11.07 am:

According to Election Department officials, brisk polling was recorded in Tripura East (ST) LS constituency where over 25% voters exercise franchise within first 2 hours.

10.40 am:

Goa voter turnout till 10:20 am :
North Goa 28.32 %
South Goa 27.69 %

10.15 am:

Tripura records 25 per cent polling till 10 am.

8.00 am:

Goa registers 9 per cent of voter turnout in the first hour of polling.

7.10 am:
Voting begins in two Parliamentary seats in Goa. Goa CM Manohar Parrikkar casts his vote. Admitting to the Narendra Modi wave in the country, Parrikkar said that the Modi wave was evident in the state.
Parrikar even urged voters to go out and vote

7.00 am:

Polling begins in Assam, Sikkim and Tripura. Many people were seen queuing outside the polling booths.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...