Your complete guide to Haryana Assembly polls 2014

Subscribe to Oneindia News
Haryana goes to poll on Oct 15
Haryana, Oct 14:As Haryana goes to vote on October 15, 2014, the fate of 1,351 candidates will be sealed by 1.63 crore voters in high-staked multi-cornered contest in the state. The top guns including the kin of the three famous 'Lals' will be battling it out in the election.

1.63 crore voters, including 87.37 lakh women, will decide the fate of 1,351 candidates, including 109 women, in 16,357 polling stations.

Important dates

Date of polling: October 15

Date of counting: October 19

Candidates and constituencies

Total candidates: 1,351 candidates

Total constituencies: 90

Party Leaders

INLD - OP Chautala

Haryana Janhit Congress (Bhajan Lal) - Kuldeep Bishnoi

BJP- Captain Abhimanyu, Ramesh Vij, Birender Singh

Congress- Bhupinder Singh Hooda

BSP - Arvind Sharma

Haryana Jan Chetna Party (Venod Sharma)

Haryana Lokhit Party- Gopal Goyal Kanda

Parties in Fray

Indian National Lok Dal(INLD)


Firm Jat vote bank


Dera Sacha Sauda joins hands with BJP

Non-Jat voters not in favour of the party

Haryana Janhit Congress (Bhajan Lal)


Legacy of former Chief Minister of Haryana Bhajan Lal.


Lack of leadership

Bhartiya Janata Party(BJP)


Modi wave

Strong anti-incumbency against Congress to come in BJP's favour

Non-Jat votes have been with the BJP

Strong leadership of leaders like Captain Abhimanyu, Rao Inderjeet Singh, Birender Singh


Hissar, Rohtak, Sirsa are all its weak areas

Indian National Congress(INC)


Presence of incumbent CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda.


The party is already going through hard times as it faces strong anti-incumbency in the state due to massive land scams and ill-treatment with a number of IAS officers who tried opening a can of worms for Hooda government.

The anti-Congress votes will be divided between BJP, Haryana Janhit Congress and INLD.

Haryana Lokhit Party


Party chief Gopal Kanda, was a former minister in Congress Govt.


Tainted track record of Kanda.

New party

Haryana Jan Chetna Party


Party chief Venod Sharma - former minister in Congress

Stronghold in Ambala


No strength outside Ambala,

New party

Last assembly election (2009)

Voter Turnout: 72.3%

Number of candidates: 1222

Total Electors: 1,31,17,142

Total Votes Polled: 94,90,092

Total Valid Votes: 94,81,712

Turnout: 72.3%


Indian National Congress (INC) won 40 of 90 seats

Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) won 31 seats on 88

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 4 of 90 seats it had contested

Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) (HJK-BL) won 6 seats of 87

Independents won 7 seats

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) won 1 of the 2 seats it fielded

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) won 1 seat of 86

Lok Sabha Polls (2014) - 10 Parliamentary seats

BJP won 7 seats

INLD won 2 seats

Congress won 1 seat

Please Wait while comments are loading...