Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: NAWABGANJ

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government.

In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]

Know Nawabganj constituency

OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Nawabganj

  • Constituency No. 121
  • District: Bareilly
  • District Area: 4,120 sq km
  • District population: 4,448,359
  • District literacy: 60.52%

2012 Assembly election result in Nawabganj

  • Winner: Bhagwat Saran Gangwar (SP)
  • Votes received: 67,022
  • Vote percentage: 35.58
  • Nearest rival: Usha Gangwar (BSP)
  • Votes: 49,303
  • Percentage: 26.17
  • Difference: 17,719
  • Margin: 9.41%
  • Total voters: 257,842
  • Turnout: 188,370 (73.06%)

First election in Nawabganj assembly constituency was held in 1952 after the delimitation order was passed in 1951.

Extant of Nawabganj Assembly constituency is Nawabganj Tehsil.

2014 Lok Sabha result in Bareilly

Santosh Kumar Gangwar (BJP) defeated Ayesha Islam (SP) by 240,685 votes and by a margin of 23.8%.

Bareilly Lok Sabha constituency comprises of 5 legislative assembly segments-- Bareilly, Bareilly Cantt, Bhojipura, Meerganj and Nawabganj.

Please Wait while comments are loading...