Saffron surge in Haryana: What helped BJP create history in Congress's fiefdom

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News
BJP wins in Haryana. (PTI image)
The results of much awaited Haryana assembly polls have shown that BJP has not only proved its mettle by contesting the elections alone in the state and winning them, but has also created history by emerging as single largest party in Haryana. It will be the first time in history of State politics that the saffron party has got such an overwhelming majority in the state.

Altogether, many factors have led to this massive win for BJP. The credit goes to many leaders of BJP who are star performers in these elections. besides these leaders many more factors are responsible for this big win.

Modi wave

Poll pundits criticised BJP's move of breaking alliance with other parties and said that it will harm the party in these Assembly elections, but the results have proved all those number crunchers wrong.

Even senior Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda had said that there was no "Modi wave" in the state, and claimed that people would vote for Congress candidates because of the development carried out by his government. "There is no Modi wave in Haryana. Rather there is a Congress wave in the state," Hooda had said.

All such arguments and questions have been replied today with BJP's win and Prime Minister Narendra Modi's magic has worked yet again for the BJP as the new government has passed its first litmus test after coming to Centre. The party, for the first time, got clear majority and will form Government on its own in Haryana.

Anti-incumbency and corruption took the toll on other parties in Haryana

Corruption and anti-incumbency was a major factor which led to defeat of other parties. People wanted change and BJP was the only alternative which they have sought because of Modi wave.

Congress, which ruled the state for 10-long years could not make it a win this time. The party was going through hard times as it faced strong anti-incumbency in the state due to massive land scams and ill-treatment with a number of IAS officers who tried opening can of worms for Hooda government.

Then there were issues like lack of infrastructure in certain regions, region centric development, power shortages, farmers' woes in the state which added more to the kitty of issues which helped BJP win.

Is it end of the road for Om Prakash Chautala's INLD?

The INLD is presently passing through its worst period as its two top leaders, Om Prakash Chautala and his elder son Ajay Chautala are in jail and other leaders have either lost in these elections or have faced defeat.

The INLD which was looking at winning this election and come back to the state's political scene, seems to have come at a dead end with a bleak future.

Not to forget the stars who helped lotus bloom in Haryana

The credit for the victory goes to a few bigwigs of the party who have been camping in Rohtak district, the constituency of Haryana CM Bhupinder Singh Hooda, for the last few days to ensure BJP's win. These leaders spearheaded party's campaign in the State. These leaders planned and executed every thing from ticket distribution, to managing rallies.

Kailash Vijayvargiya, the MP Urban Development Minister was made Haryana in-charge by party president Amit Shah in the run to Assembly election who played a vital role inn the polls.

Then comes Anil Jain, the national secretary of BJP was given task to decide the venues and manage all the rallies which were addressed by Modi and to pick the candidates to contest the polls.

Shiv Prakash, who was recently recruited from the RSS played a pivotal role in bringing party workers together as a cohesive team and reportedly also imparted political training to workers which helped them understand the pulse of electorate.

Ram Lal, BJP's national organisation secretary was also one of the people who taught the party workers about the discipline.

BJP has passed the first litmus test by winning in Haryana after massive win in Lok Sabha polls, but a bigger task at hand is waiting for the party which is, who will be the Chief Minister of the state.

Please Wait while comments are loading...