Nobel Prize: All you need to know about the prestigious prize

Subscribe to Oneindia News

The prestigious Nobel Prize is awarded annually in various categories by Swedish and Norwegian committees. The Nobel Prize is bestowed in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or medicine, literature, peace and economic science.

Nobel Prize

Here are some facts you need to know about the prestigious award

  • Alfred Nobel gave largest share of his wealth to a series of prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine,
  • Literature and Peace in his last will and testament signed on November 27, 1895.
  • Nobel in Economic Sciences was established by the Sweden's central bank Sveriges Riksbank in 1968 in the memory of Alfred Nobel.
  • The founder of the International Committee of the Red Cross ICRC, Henry Dunant, was awarded the first Nobel Peace Prize in 1901.
  • A total of 864 laureates and 25 organizations have been awarded the Nobel Prize between 1901 and 2014.
  • A total of 49 times the Nobel Prize have not been awarded since its inception in 1901. Mostly it was skipped during the World War I (1914-1918) and II (1939-1945).
  • The average age of all Nobel Laureates in all prize categories between 1901 and 2014 is 59 years.
  • Among the Nobel Laureates, the two most common dates for birthdays are 21 May and 28 February.
  • Malala Yousafzai who was awarded in Nobel in peace in 2014 is youngest ever to receive the award.
  • The Nobel Prize and Prize in Economic Sciences have been awarded 47 times to women between 1901 and 2014.
  • Two Nobel Laureates Jean-Paul Sartre and Le Duc Tho declined the Nobel Prize awarded in 1964 and 1973 respectively.
  • Adolf Hitler forbade three German Nobel Laureates, Richard Kuhn, Adolf Butenandt and Gerhard Domagk, from accepting the Nobel Prize.
  • Three Nobel Laureates German pacifist and journalist Carl von Ossietzky, Burmese politician Aung San Suu Kyi and Chinese human rights activist Liu Xiaobo were under arrest at the time of the award of the Nobel Prize.
  • The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) has been honoured by a Nobel Peace Prize three times.
  • Linus Pauling holds the pride of the only person to have been awarded two unshared Nobel Prizes - the 1954 Nobel Prize in Chemistry and the 1962 Nobel Peace Prize.
  • Before 1974, Dag Hammarskjöld (Nobel Peace Prize 1961) and Erik Axel Karlfeldt (Nobel Prize in Literature 1931) were awarded Nobel Prize posthumously.
  • Marie and Pierre Curie were a very successful 'Nobel Prize family'. Marie Curie herself was awarded two Nobel Prizes.
Please Wait while comments are loading...