Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: SHEKHUPUR

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government.

In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]

Know Shekhupur constituency

OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Shekhupur

  • Constituency No. 116
  • District: Badaun
  • District Area: 84 sq km
  • District population: 3,129,000
  • District literacy: 52.91%

2012 Assembly election result in Shekhupur

  • Winner: Ashish Yadav
  • Votes received: 68,533
  • Vote percentage: 32.76%
  • Nearest rival: Bhagvan Singh Shakya
  • Votes: 60,281
  • Percentage: 28.82%
  • Difference: 8,252
  • Margin: 3.94%
  • Total voters: 333,673
  • Turnout: 209,198 (62.7%)

First election in Shekhupur constituency was held in 2012 after the Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, 2008 was passed and the constituency was formed in 2008.

Extant of Shekhupur Assembly constituency is KC Kakrala & Kakrala MB of Dataganj Tehsil; KCs Jagat, Qadarchowk, Shekhupur, Sakhanoo NP & Gulariya NP of Budaun Tehsil.

2014 Lok Sabha result in Badaun

Dharmendra Yadav (SP) defeated Vagish Pathak (BJP) by 166,347 votes and by a margin of 16.19%.

Please Wait while comments are loading...