Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: SANDILA

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]

Know constituencies of UP polls: Sandila

OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

Constituency Name: Sandila (GEN)

  • Constituency No. 161
  • District: Hardoi 
  • Population of district: 4,091,380 
  • Overall Literacy: 68.89% 
  • Sex ratio: 856/1000

2012 Assembly election result

  • Winner: Kunwar Mahabir Singh (SP) 
  • Votes received: 84,644
  • Nearest rival: Abdul Mannan (BSP) 
  • Votes: 65,510
  • Difference: 19,134 
  • Margin: 19,134 (9.9%)
  • Total voters: 3,08,852
  • Turnout: 62.4%

Past results of the constituency

  • In 2007, Abdul Mannan (BSP) defeated Smt Ishrat Rasool(SP) with 3,055 votes.
  • In 2002, Abdul Mannan (BSP) defeated Kunwar Virendra Singh (SP) with 19,560 votes.

Some more info about Sandila

  • People believe Sandila is the worship land of legendary sage Shandilya.
  • Historical facts say that Sandila town established in the medieval period after Mohammad Ghori's capture of Delhi throne.
  • Two brothers belonging to the martial Arakh clan viz. Salhia and Malhia established the towns of Salhiapura which was later called Sandila.
  • This place is famous for its special Boondi Laddoos. Its reference is also given in many of the Bollywood movies.
Please Wait while comments are loading...