Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: RAMPUR [GEN]

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: BILASPUR [36]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

uttar pradesh

Constituency Name: RAMPUR [Comprises KC 3-Panwaria & Rampur MB of 3-Rampur Tehsil]

Constituency No. 37

  • District: Rampur (Rampur is an Assembly segment under Rampur Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 2,265 square kilometres
  • District population: 23,35,819 (general caste 86.8%; SC 13.2%; ST 0%)
  • District literacy: 44.7%
  • District urbanisation: 25.2%

2012 Assembly election result in Rampur

  • Winner: Mohammad Azam Khan (SP)
  • Votes received: 95,772
  • Vote percentage: 55.3
  • Nearest rival: Dr Tanveer Ahmed Khan (Congress)
  • Votes: 42,641
  • Percentage: 21.96%
  • Difference: 63,269
  • Margin %: 36.54
  • Total voters: 3,18,714
  • Turnout: 54.55%
  • Party which has won Rampur most number of times: Congress has won six times; SP four times; BJP and BSP never [since 1952]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Rampur
Dr Nepal Singh (BJP) defeated Naseer Ahmed Khan (SP) by 23,435 vots (margin% 2.45)

Please Wait while comments are loading...