Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: POWAYAN

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government.

In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it: [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]


Constituency Name: Powayan

  • Constituency No. 134
  • District: Shahjahanpur
  • District Area: 4,575 sq km
  • District population: 3,006,538
  • District literacy: 61.61% (Male) 70.09% (Female)

2012 Assembly election result in Powayan

  • Winner: Sakuntla Devi (SP)
  • Votes received: 59,871
  • Vote percentage: 28.78%
  • Nearest rival: Arun Kumar Sagar (BSP)
  • Votes: 50,973
  • Percentage: 24.5%
  • Difference: 8.898
  • Margin: 4.28%
  • Total voters: 318,610
  • Turnout: 208,060 (65.3%)

First election in Powayan assembly constituency was held in 1957 after the "DPACO (1956)" (delimitation order) was passed in 1956.

Extant of Powayan Assembly constituency is KCs Khutar, Powayan, Banda, Nahil, Powayan NP & Khutar NP of Powayan Tehsil.

2014 Lok Sabha result in Shahjahanpur

Krishna Raj (BJP) defeated Umed Singh Kashyap (BSP) by 235,529 votes and by a margin of 20.83%.
Tehsils of Shahjahanpur district are Powayan, Tilhar, Jalalabad, and Sadar.

Shajahanpur Lok Sabha constituency comprises of 6 legislative assembly segments. These segments are: Dadraul, Jalalabad, Katra, Powayan, Shahjahanpur and Tilhar.

Please Wait while comments are loading...