Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: MANT [GEN]

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government. In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority.

<------Previous seat: CHHATA [81]

Oneindia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it:

up map

Constituency Name: MANT [Comprises PCs 4-Falain-II, 8-Jatawari, 18-Barha, 19-Husaini,
22-Rampur of Paigaon KC, PCs 11-Ujhani, 12-Shergarh, 13-Peerpur, 14-Dhimri, 15-Ranhera, 16-Senwa, 17-Astadi & 21-Gulalpur of 4-Chhata KC of 1-Chhata Tehsil; KCs 1-Nauhjhil, 2-Surir, 3-Akabarpur, 4-Mant & Bajana NP of 2-Mant Tehsil]

Constituency No. 82

  • District: Mathura (Mant is an Assembly segment under Mathura Lok Sabha constituency)
  • District Area: 3,340 square kilometres
  • District population: 25,47,184 (general caste 80%, Scheduled Caste 19.1%, Sceduled Tribe 0.1%)
  • District literacy: 59.2%
  • District urbanisation: 29.7%

2012 Assembly election result in Mant

  • Winner: Jayant Chaudhary (RLD)/PT Shyam Sunder Pacchara of the Trinamool Congress won the seat in a 2012 bypoll after Jayant Chaudhary resigned after winning the election. He defeated Yogesh Chaudhary by 6,604 votes.
  • Votes received: 87,062
  • Vote percentage: 43.11
  • Nearest rival: Pt SSS Pachhara (Trinamool Congress)
  • Votes: 71,007
  • Percentage: 35.16
  • Difference: 16,055
  • Margin %: 7.95
  • Total voters: 2,86,964
  • Turnout: 70.61
  • Party which won Mant most number of times: Mant constituency came into existence after the delimitation of 2008 [RLD won in 2012; TMC won in 2012 bypoll]

2014 Lok Sabha result in Mathura

Hema Malini (BJP) defeated Jayant Chaudhary (RLD) by 3,30,743 votes (margin% 31.67)

Please Wait while comments are loading...