Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls 2017: KATRA

Subscribe to Oneindia News

Uttar Pradesh will go to Assembly elections early in 2017. The state has an Assembly comprising 403 seats and a party/alliance has to win 202 seats to form the government.

In 2012, when the last state election was held in UP, the Samajwadi Party had won 224 seats to get a decisive majority. OneIndia will take one Assembly constituency a day and have a look at electoral information related to it: [Know constituencies of UP Assembly polls]


Constituency Name: KATRA

  • Constituency No. 131
  • District: Shahjahanpur
  • District Area: 4,575 sq km
  • District population: 3,006,538
  • District literacy: 61.61% (Male) 70.09% (Female)

2012 Assembly election result in Katra

  • Winner: Rajesh Yadav (SP)
  • Votes received: 51,025
  • Vote percentage: 27.51%
  • Nearest rival: Rajeev Kashyap (BSP)
  • Votes: 50,150
  • Percentage: 27.04%
  • Difference: 875
  • Margin: 0.47%
  • Total voters: 292,322
  • Turnout: 185,449 (63.44 %)

First election in Katra assembly constituency was held in 2012 after the "Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, 2008" was passed and the constituency was formed in 2008.

Extant of Katra Assembly constituency is KCs Kheda Bajheda, Jalalpur, Katra, Khudaganj NP, Katra NP of Tilhar Tehsil & KC Paraur of Jalalabad Tehsil.

2014 Lok Sabha result in Shahjahanpur

Krishna Raj (BJP) defeated Umed Singh Kashyap (BSP) by 235,529 votes and by a margin of 20.83%.
About Shahjahanpur district

Tehsils of Shahjahanpur district are Powayan, Tilhar, Jalalabad, and Sadar.

Shajahanpur Lok Sabha constituency comprises of 6 legislative assembly segments. These segments are: Dadraul, Jalalabad, Katra, Powayan, Shahjahanpur and Tilhar.

Please Wait while comments are loading...